Mumsnet Essex visits The Shard for Halloween

Myself and two of my children were invited by Cadbury UK to visit The Shard in London for the Halloween event.

Our visit was Thursday 30th October.

My daughters spotted the building before me and I was meant to be looking for it. I should have just looked up towards the sky.

shard1

Entering the building, you are met by friendly, helpful staff who direct you where to go.

Lift 1 takes you to floor 33 in a very short time. Lift 2 takes you to floor 68 equally as fast as the first lift. (6 metres a second). The rides are smooth and you feel very safe. However be prepared for some disorientation and possible ear blocking as you leave the second lift.

Floor 68 has a viewing platform and you can really see for miles. Iconic sights such as the London Eye are easy to spot. We also managed to view the amazing poppies at The Tower of London.

shard2

shard3

We then took the stairs to level 72. Our first view on this level was of the huge Cadbury’s Halloween Spider Web which took up almost one side of the Shard. The children on the level seemed to be quite interested in the web.

shard4

This level is slightly open roofed and was a little breezy when we visited. Whilst I would have liked to have looked around the platform my daughters were actually quite scared because of this so we had to go back down to level 68.

After a while we went back down in the two lifts (again not so good for the ears). The exit is through the Gift Shop which is to be expected. Again the staff were very helpful.

I would recommend a visit to The Shard. The numbers are limited so you are not rushed and can view for as long as you wish. I found the children visiting at the same time as us were interested although I am not sure how long the attention span of a younger child would last for.

The Shard, 32 London Bridge Street, London SE1 9SG.

http://www.theviewfromtheshard.com

Leave a comment